Kick-Start! Recipe Time!

IMG_0082

Hello, blog world!

I will be brief in introducing myself because I am way more excited to present this divine recipe to you.

Some things you should know about me before I begin my food blogging journey:

  • I’m Alicia! Nice to meet you. I hope you will become a faithful reader of mine!
  • This is a gluten-free vegan food blog that is attentive and mindful of food allergies, intolerances, and sensitivities, and will showcase recipes and information that adhere to the principle of being allergen conscientious. Yeah!
  • I’m passionate about veganism, healthy eating, and food issues, and I am always open to discuss with and learn from anyone who comes across this blog. Cheers!

It’s been years since the area where I live has experienced snowfall like we did yesterday! It’s like a true winter wonderland. Naturally, while the snow whirls around outside my window (though the sun is shining!) I am inside making… frozen desserts.

Yeah, totally! I’m engaging the frosty temperature in a little friendly rivalry. It is colder out there (my poor pies wept chocolate tears), but these raw chocolate pies are more delicious! I guess it’s a tie.

IMG_0080

Raw Chocolate “Ice Cream” Mini Pies

BASE

small handful raw almonds (~1/3 cup)

3 Medjool dates, pitted

“ICE CREAM” FILLING

flesh of 1-1/2 avocados (it’s a pain! I used the other half for my lunch)

1-1/2 Tbsp cacao powder

3-4 Medjool dates (depending on desired level of sweetness)

Pinch green stevia leaf powder (optional)

Filtered water, as much as needed, for thinning out

Cacao nibs, for  garnish (optional)

  1. Base: in the bowl of your food processor, pulse together almonds and dates until you get a sticky, sandy mixture. Divide and press the mixture into the bottom of 12 mini cupcake/pie cups (grease it with coconut oil for easy removal). Stick in the fridge while you prepare filling.
  2. Filling: In the same bowl of your food processor (I’m saving you dishes to wash!), combine avocado flesh, cacao powder, dates, and stevia (if using) and process on a medium-low speed, while adding water by the tablespoon, until mixture is thick and creamy. Note that it should not be too thin! You also don’t want it too thick, but it is safter to have it thick than it is thin, as a thin filling will not freeze properly. Do a taste test to check the sweetness.
  3. Remove pan from the fridge and scoop filling out of the bowl by the tablespoon into each cup. Smooth out the filling, and sprinkle with cacao nibs, if desired.
  4. Freeze pies for at least 30 minutes before plucking from the freezer and devouring—I mean, before carefully removing from the pan and serving to your family and friends! Keep leftovers (if any!) in an airtight container in the freezer.

Yield: 12 mini frozen pies.

3 comments

Leave Your Thoughts!

