Cookie Reverie

IMG_0431

It is regretful, I think, not to possess many fond childhood memories.

For myself, memories of friends and school are few (perhaps I have learned to block them out) and of family, fewer still.

One thing that lingers, for whatever reason, of my mother’s mother, is—in that old farmhouse with the rickety staircase and “haunted” basement; its musty scent; shelves of old, shrivelled books, and—oatmeal cookies. Upon every visit there was always an abundance of cookies in a porcelain cookie jar, but the best ones were the oatmeal raisin cookies.

My siblings beg to differ, but that is, of course, irrelevant. (Because they are wrong.)

IMG_0444

I will not say I have recreated them. It’s odd; I cannot remember the taste of these cookie, just the memory of my love for them. So you will understand when I say I have not “veganized” and “de-gluten-ed” my grandmother’s cookies.

However, these cookies are delicious! They are a perfect match for a cup of tea, and to ponder over, perhaps, fond, old memories. Do you have a particular person, thing, or event that stands out from your past? I hope you do, and that it is a good one.

IMG_0443

Thick and Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, corn-free, nut-free, refined sugar-free

1-1/2 cups gluten-free rolled oats
3/4 cup gluten-free, corn-free, and nut-free flour blend, without gum (I used 1/2 cup brown rice flour + 1/4 cup arrowroot starch)
1 tsp allergen-free baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon (optional)
1/2 cup maple sugar (or coconut sugar—the maple flavour is hardly present)
1/2 cup soy-free Earth Balance
2 flax eggs (2 Tbsp flaxmeal mixed with 6 Tbsp warm water)
3/4 cup raisins

======================================================

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

2) Combine flours, oats, baking powder, and cinnamon. Set aside.

3) Beat together sugar and Earth Balance until thick and creamy, scraping down the sides of the bowl, as needed. Add flax eggs and continue to beat until mixture has thickened further.

4) Gradually add the dry mixture, beating until just combined. Add raisins and mix. The batter will be a little wet.

5) Scoop out tablespoon-fuls of  the batter and align them on one cookie sheet. Pop that one in the oven for 15-18 minutes, until golden on top and dark-golden brown on the bottoms. Meanwhile, portion out the remaning dough on the second cookie sheet. Cool cookie on sheet for 1-2 minutes (maximum), just to firm up, and them remove to cool completely on a wire rack.

Yield: about 24 cookies (I had leftover batter… so… I just… ate it!)

Leave Your Thoughts!

