What gets you through

IMG_0410

There are a handful of things I would rather not admit to: my temper is short, and I’m an overt people-pleaser, and there are days I can’t go without eating for five minutes. But then I figure these things are already pretty obvious and trying to deny them is really not doing anyone any good.

What I’m trying to get at is I’m a very anxious person.

IMG_0426 IMG_0402

As far as coping goes… the only comfort I’ve known is food (making and eating) but lately I’ve been so anxious I’m getting sick of food and that’s not like me.

So I’m trying to get in more yoga time. And I’m trying not to revert into my shell, but it’s a habit and honestly I’m comfortable only by myself. This is another one of those tags I can’t remove from my name (read: a complete loner). I’m here for advice. And your own stories. We can share.

IMG_0415

Speaking of sharing, I made these squares for the TVA‘s Vegan Bake Sale yesterday. You may recognize them from my Instagram. I altered the recipe slightly since then, and I’m very satisfied with them now.

Chocolate Macaroon Squares

vegan, gluten-free, soy-free

Base
1 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup almond flour/meal
2 Tbsp cacao powder
3-4 Tbsp liquid sweetener
3 Tbsp coconut oil, melted

Filling
160g unsweetened desiccated coconut
1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp full-fat coconut milk
1/2 cup organic sugar
1 egg replacer (binding)

Garnish
2 Tbsp coconut oil, melted
3 Tbsp allergen-free chocolate chips
slivered almonds

=======================================================

Combine all base ingredients (mixture should be only slightly moist, but stick together when pressed between your fingers). Press evenly into a lined 8-inch square baking dish and bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes, until firm.

Meanwhile, combine all filling ingredients in a bowl and let them sit while the base is cooking.

Evenly spread the filling over the base and bake 30-40 minutes, until set and golden around the edges (it will bubble a little; this is good for the flavour boost… caramelization rocks!).

Remove from the oven and set on a cooling rack while you combine the coconut oil and cacao to make a chocolate drizzle; drizzle over the top. Scatter and press the almonds into the chocolate. Allow the squares to cool completely before slicing. Note that they will cut much better if you stick them in the fridge for a couple hours first.

Yield: 16 squares

4 comments

Leave Your Thoughts!

