Old Habits

IMG_0585

Last week I started writing again. I guess it was always inevitable I would come back to it.

Before I discovered my passion for baking I wanted to be a published writer. I dreamt about this rather vividly. I abandoned that dream for this new one, and though I don’t regret it, I wonder where I would stand today if I had chosen writing.

That doesn’t really matter, because this is where I am and this is who I am, but when I started to write again I found it easily, though not without stumbling. It’s still like a habit for me. We are all natural storytellers, but I think some of us are more adamant about writing them down.

I’m refreshed.

IMG_0603

Habits… I have a lot of those. Writing is one, but baking is another, and specifically baking banana bread. It has been nearly two years, and until now I could not get vegan, gluten-free banana bread right. The frustration!

I’m proud to say I have created this recipe that meets my standards for banana bread. I have high standards, you should know.

Do you have any habitual recipes?

IMG_0589

Classic Banana Bread

vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, corn-free, refined sugar-free, nut-free option

2 cups gf, cf flour blend: 1 cup brown rice flour, 1/2 cup sorghum flour, 1/4 cup tapioca starch, 1/4 cup arrowroot starch)
1-1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp gf, cf baking powder
1/2 tsp guar gum
Salt, to taste
3 large ripe mashed bananas
1/2 cup liquid sweetener (I used maple syrup)
1 egg replacement (leavening)
1/3 cup apple sauce*
1 Tbsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped (optional—omit to make nut-free)

======================================================

Preheat oven 350 degrees. Grease a 9-x5-inch loaf pan and set aside.

In a large bowl mix together the bananas, sweetener, egg replacer, apple sauce and vanilla.

In a medium bowl, sift together flour blend, baking soda, baking powder, gum, and salt; gradually mix just until combined. Add walnuts, if using.

Evenly spread batter into prepared loaf pan, and bake 35-45 minutes, until browned on top and a toothpick comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in the pan before turning out onto wire rack to finish cooling.

Yield: 1 loaf (16-12 slices)

*If corn is an issue for you and yours, be careful about commercial applesauce. Either find a safe brand, or make your own. You can also use oil in place of the applesauce.

One comment

Leave Your Thoughts!

