On Perception

IMG_0501

Up until now, I have imagined myself a crafty writer.

I thought, if I tell a story this way ,it will be interesting and it will create suspense. I thought, because it makes perfect sense in my head it will have the same effect on the reader.

I’ve recently discovered that is just not true.

I, being the omniscient voice in the story (as this is normally how I write),  can see it only one way. I know how the events will pan out, I know how the characters feel, I know that a particular item is being described in detail because it will be important later on in the story.

But I forget no one else has that power.

One may interpret a character differently and one may not draw the same conclusions as I from the information provided (often the problem is a lack of information). How could they when they are limited? I am already at the end of the story; I am seeing it backwards. When it is flipped and told from the beginning there will be confusion.

I feel a bit foolish. But I find it fascinating.

IMG_0502

Writer have to think from the reader’s point of view. It’s challenging to let go of what you know and start in the same place as the reader. I’m still trying to grasp this concept.

Outside of writing this can be related to, for example, how we perceive ourselves versus how others perceive us. First impressions really are important. I’m not sure what I look like to others, and I’ve never tried to know.

I am thinking maybe it’s about time I change this.

IMG_0505

No-Bake Tarte au Chocolat

vegan. gluten-free. corn-free. soy-free. nut-free.

BASE:

1 cup gluten-free oats
6 Medjool dates
1-1/2 Tbsp virgin coconut oil

FILLING:

100g fair-trade, vegan, soy-free dark chocolate (80%), chopped
1/3 cup organic vegan sugar
1/4 cup unsweetened, plain rice milk

TOPPING/GARNISH:

Goji berries, or fresh berries
Non-dairy whipped topping (not pictured because I had this idea too late oops)

==========================================================

FOR BASE:
In the bowl of a food processor, blend together oats, dates, and coconut oil until you get a crumbly mixture that holds when pressed together. Press the mixture firmly and evenly into the bottom of a 7-in round, fluted tart pan with a removable bottom (or a springform of the same diameter). Set aside.

FOR FILLING:
In a double-boiler or bain-marie, melt the chocolate with the milk; add sugar when chocolate is about half melted and is mixed with the milk. Continue to heat, stirring constantly, until chocolate is almost completely melted, then turn off the heat. Allow the chocolate to sit and melt over the residual heat. It will thicken up into a silky ganache after about 5 minutes, or until double boiler is just warm to the touch.

FOR FINISH:
Pour filling over top of the base, smoothing it out evenly with a spatula. Sprinkle gogi berries over top. Stick the tart in the refrigerator until completely chilled. Before serving, top with non-dairy whipped topping, if desired.

Yield: one 7-inch round tart

Leave Your Thoughts!

