Considering Words, and a Cookie Recipe

IMG_0800
Cookie recipes make people feel skeptical.

I undersand because I feel the same way.

Maybe it’s because cookies are so common. What is there to make a cookie recipe stand out when every blog out there has its own (sometimes in abundance) versions and adaptations?

You can claim a cookie is the best, but I disagree. I don’t believe that can ever hold true (for any recipe, actually) because ‘the best’ applies to each individual differently. That’s why my favourite, is my favourite, and your favourite is your favourite.
IMG_0791
IMG_0806
Recently, I read a text that has begun to alter my thinking on words and how we use them. Now, this has nothing to do with cookies (though I can relate cookies to most anything—my talent!), but it has to do with our perception on ‘the best’ or ‘the worst’, etc.

In short, it speaks of how the English language is especially harsh-sounding and judgemental because of all the nouns that English speakers use to describe literally everything. I am currently unable to put it into words that can explain just what this text was about. I don’t think my words can do it justice. However, it it interests you, consider reading “What Your Language” by Rupert Ross. I found it very enjoyable.

In the mean time, enjoy some chocolate-y goodness—from me to you!
IMG_0824

Double Chocolate Cookies

vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, corn-free, refined sugar-free

1-1/4 cup almond flour
1/2 cup sorghum flour
1/4 cup arrowroot starch
1/3 cup cacao powder
1 tsp gf, cf baking powder
1/2 tsp guar gum
1/4 tsp salt
generous 1/2 cup coconut sugar
4 Tbsp soy-free Earth Balance OR organic coconut oil
3 Tbsp full-fat coconut milk
1/2 cup allergen-free chocolate chips OR chopped dark chocolate

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a large cookie sheet with parchment and set aside.

In a medium bowl, mix together flours, starch, cacao, baking powder, gum and salt. Set aside.

In the bowl of your stand mixer, beat together the sugar, butter substitute, and coconut milk until thick and pale. Add dry ingredients and mix on low just until combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Place generous tablespoon-sized mounds of dough onto prepared cookie sheet. With damp hands, flatten each mound (they should be about 2.5-inches in diameter).

Bake cookies for about 20 minutes; remove from oven and allow to cool completely on cookie sheet before eating and storing.

Yield: 12 large cookies

Leave Your Thoughts!

