Catch Up!

IMG_0962

The past month has gone by so quickly!

I haven’t been terribly swamped with responsibilities, but I haven’t been in the kitchen much either! I decided it was about time I put on my oven mitts and did something… I can’t waste an entire summer of opportunities.

I know one day I’ll wake up and I’ll be starting autumn semester. Sigh. I can’t complain. This summer has been easy.

IMG_0975

If I’m completely honest I’m even more worried about starting off my second year than I was with the first. I think it has something to do with the fact that I realize just how far along I am compared to a few years ago—physically, emotionally, spiritually. I’ve become stronger, maybe happier, too.

The distance between the time I have left to do the things I want and reach my goals and become who I want to be, and the time that has already gone by unspent is disintegrating. Each year reminds me of all the time I cannot get back.

It’s moments like these I need to take a breather, make a cup of tea, and grab a cookie. Because cookies make everything seem a little bit brighter.

Anyway I’m trying not to stress it. I think I missed out on a lot in my teenage years—that I lived too cautiously, too judgementally, too solitarily.

Maybe this is the year I will open myself up. Somehow.

IMG_0972

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

vegan. gluten-free. soy-free. nut-free. corn-free*. refined sugar-free.

1/2 cup sorghum flour
1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup certified gf oats
1/2 tsp baking powder

1/3 cup allergen-free vegan butter
1/2 cup coconut sugar
1-1/2 Tbsps gf pure vanilla extract
1 egg replacement
1/4-1/3 cup mini allergen-free chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

Stir together dry ingredients in a small bowl; set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat together butter substitute and sugar until pale and creamy. Add vanilla and egg replacement (I used this one*) until mixture is thick and homogenous.

Gradually mix in the wet ingredients. If dough is too dry, add a little water or rice milk until it’s just a little moist and sticky. Stir in chocolate chips.

Place mounds of dough (a rounded tablespoon is the perfect size) on prepared sheet and bake 12-15 minutes, until set and the bottoms are golden brown. Allow cookies to rest on the sheet for 5 minutes before removing to a cooling rack.

Yield: 16 cookies

*Note that the powdered egg replacer I used contains corn. You can easily make these corn-free by using a corn-free egg substitute (flax or chia gel would work!).

Leave Your Thoughts!

