Just Peachy

IMG_1033

“What recipe?” My mother asks, the corners of her mouth twitching nervously.

I knew it would come to this, I thought, rolling up my sleeves. Only one of us was going to walk away from this conversation satisfied.

“I don’t know what you’re talking about.”

Sigh. Okay, mom, you’re not willing to give me the recipe of my childhood for the one thing you used to bake.

(Yet… I’ll get it one day!)

IMG_1036

I was left to my own devices.

It’s not that a crumble is an elaborate dish with 50 ingredients and half as many steps. But I do remember my mom’s peach crumble well… it was special maybe because it was the one thing she ever used to bake from scratch.

Every summer in the midst of peach season as a school year drew closer, my mom would buy an extra basket of peaches and make a crumble. I don’t think you understand. My hopes and dreams were buried in that crumble. I had to prepare myself an entire year for it.

IMG_1048

So here’s my take. Obviously this recipe is a little different (ie. it’s vegan, it’s gluten-free, and it’s got fancy almonds on the top). It is totally what I’ve been craving since the beginning of the month. August is about peaches for me. I hope you’ll celebrate the season similarly. If not a crumble, then perhaps a pie or a jam?

I didn’t wanna be the one to have to say this but the month is half over and we don’t have a lot of time to spend with the peaches—so make it count!

Peach Almond Crumble

vegan. gluten-free. soy-free. refined sugar-free. corn-free.

Coconut oil for greasing the pan
FILLING:
2.8 lbs fresh peaches, washed and sliced (you can peel them if you like)
1/3 cup coconut palm sugar
1 Tbsp tapioca starch
Generous pinch salt
CRUMBLE:
1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup sorghum flour
1/2 cup sliced almonds, divided
1/3 cup coconut palm sugar
6 Tbsp soy-free vegan butter substitute
2 tsp gf pure vanilla extract
Pinch salt

=======================================

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease an 8-inch square baking dish with coconut oil and set aside.

In a mixing bowl, combine filling ingredients, tossing until peaches are covered and starch dissolves. Set aside.

For crumble, in a medium bowl stir together flours. Crush half of the almonds with your hand (or be fancy and use a food processor) and add them to the bowl with the sugar. Then add the butter substitute, vanilla, and salt, and work into the flour mixture with your fingers until moist and crumbly.

Pour filling into prepared dish and evenly sprinkle the crumble over top. Top with the remaining sliced almonds.

Bake 20 minutes, or until golden and filling is a little bubbly. Remove and let the crumble cool on a rack for at least 15 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature. Refrigerate leftovers.

Yield: 6 servings

2 comments

  1. Mostly I stick to apple crumbles – on accounta I have apple trees and thus a bagillion apples – but this looks so good I might just have to break with tradition!

Leave Your Thoughts!

