Expectancy

IMG_1096
So much in life is unexpected. When you think about all the things you don’t know, and can’t know, it can be scary and frustrating.

After a series of events yesterday I realized I don’t have nearly as much control over my life as I thought I did. From unpreparedly spending a good deal of my chequing account on underwear (of all things…), to taking my friend to my favourite vegan restaurant only to discover they use peanut oil and nearly give her an anaphylactic reaction, to missing our return bus by mere seconds and having to wait an hour in the rain for the next one….. it was an eventful day.

IMG_1097
Sometimes I get freaked out and consumed by the thought of everything I cannot anticipate. It’s not all negative, of course there are lots of unexpected good things, too. Going vegan is certainly one of mine!

What’s something unexpected (good or bad) that has happened to you recently?

IMG_1104
About the recipe—it’s one of my favourite snacks to bring to school. I used to buy Lara bars but this way is much cheaper and I get to create my own flavour combinations! I used honey dates as opposed to the preferred Medjool variety, so if you’re using the latter, you may need a date or two less.

Fruit & Nut Bars – 2 Flavours

vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, corn-free, refined sugar-free.

Peanut Butter-Cacao Nib
1/4 cup dates, soaked (reserve water)
1/3 cup almonds
1 Tbsp peanut butter
2 Tbsp cacao nibs OR allergen-free chocolate chips
pinch sea salt

Coconut-Chia
generous 1/3 cup dates, soaked (reserve water)
1/2 cup almonds
2 Tbsp unsweetened dessiccated coconut
1 Tbsp chiaseed
pinch sea salt

============================================

For either or both flavour(s), process the soaked dates in a food processor. Add the remaining ingredients (except the cacao nibs) and process until mixture comes together in a ball—you may need to add some of the reserved soaking water if mixture is too dry. Stir in cacao nibs (if using).

Scoop out date mixture onto the end of a sheet of plastic film; bring up the other side over top and press evenly between a flat surface and the palm of your hand (or a cookbook to ensure even-ness).

Refrigerate at least 30 minutes, or until firm.

Both flavours make 3 bars each.

3 comments

  1. Yesterday was a tough day of unexpected events for me too :( Maybe the planets weren’t aligned correctly or something! The good thing is that your bars look amazing and I can’t wait to give them a try!

Leave Your Thoughts!

