Spice of Life

IMG_1182

After a 24-hour wifi withdrawl I came to the conclusion I am uncomfortably dependent on the internet. For survival. It’s true! All I could think about was

How many emails am I missing?

What’s going on with who and where? and

Catching up on Vegan Mofo blogroll is going to be a terrible chore.

In this time (since I had a lot of it), I got to thinking… what foods can I not live without?

IMG_1192

I came up with the following list for myself:

  • Rice cakes
  • Sweet potato
  • Nut/seed butter
  • Green tea
  • Blueberries

I became especially dependent on rice cakes after discovering my wheat intolerance. I go through maybe two packs in a week it’s really something I need to work on (oops).

But sometimes having hummus or nut butter on rice cakes gets tiring… and I like to spice things up. So I was playing around with a nut-free spread.

IMG_1202

Coconut & Sunflower Seed Butter – 2 Flavours

vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, nut-free, refined sugar-free, grain-free, raw

CHOCOLATE
1 cup unsweetened desiccated coconut
1 cup raw sunflower seeds
1.5 Tbsp coconut syrup (or any vegan liquid sweetener)
2. Tbsp. cacao powder
Salt, to taste

MOROCCAN SPICE
1 cup unsweetened desiccated coconut
1 cup raw sunflower seeds
1 Tbsp coconut syrup (or any vegan liquid sweetener)
1/2 tsp each: ground cumin, ginger, black pepper, and salt
1/4 tsp each: ground cinnamon, coriander, cayenne
1/8 tsp cloves
3-4 dried apricots, chopped

==================================================

FOR CHOCOLATE:
Process coconut and seeds in your food processor with coconut syrup and cacao until it becomes a butter, scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary. This can take up to 20 minutes. To ensure the butter remains “raw” you may have to stop the processor for a few minutes at 10-min intervals so that it does not become too hot! Season with salt to taste. Transfer to an airtight container and store in the refrigerator.

FOR MOROCCAN SPICE:
Process coconut and seeds in your food processor with coconut syrup and spices until it becomes a butter, scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary. This can take up to 20 minutes. To ensure the butter remains “raw” you may have to stop the processor for a few minutes at 10-min intervals so that it does not become too hot! Add chopped apricots and pulse to combine. Transfer to an airtight container and store in the refrigerator.

Leave Your Thoughts!

