Planning a Plan

IMG_1643

It’s not like there is any part of school that I find particularly easy, but the past few weeks have been pushing the limit with a full list of things that make me queasy.

Presentations, group projects, last-minute assignments and tests, losing my notes, breaking my winter jacket at the start of the cold season…

I keep telling myself it will be over soon. I don’t want to be looking at it that way, though.

IMG_1665

Is everything supposed to feel this hard? Even waking up in the morning (and I love mornings!).

I’ve been slacking on my self-care and maybe that’s part of the reason why things seem generally less-than great. I’ve been having far too many cookies and I don’t remember the last time I cooked a proper meal or did more than a 10-minute yoga routine.

Over the winter break I’m going to buy a planner and try to sort out some clutter. I’m not usually one with a plan… this will be one of those resolution things, I guess.

IMG_1685

Double Chocolate Brownies

vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, nut-free, corn-free

2 Tbsp flaxmeal + 6 Tbsp water
2/3 cup brown rice flour, sorghum flour
1/3 cup potato starch
3/4 tsp gf, cf baking powder
1/4 tsp guar gum
1/4 tsp salt
1.5 cups organic sugar
1 cup applesauce
1 Tbsp pure vanilla extract
100g vegan chocolate, chopped

========================================

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease an 8-inch square pan and line the bottom with a square of parchment paper. Set aside.

In a large bowl, prepare “flax egg” and let it sit for at least 10 minutes. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine flours, starch, baking powder, gum, salt, and chopped chocolate.

In the bowl with the “flax egg” add sugar, applesauce, and vanilla and mix well until mixture is thick and smooth. Stir in the dry ingredients until combined.

Scrape batter into prepared pan, smooth out the top, and bake for 30-40 minutes, until brownies are set and tested done with a toothpick. Remove from oven and cool completely in the pan. Cut into squares and serve. Wrap and refrigerate or freeze leftovers.

Yield: 12 brownies

NOTE: the “frosting” on top is a cashew cream frosting that I’m still perfecting. Also it would obviously make them not nut-free. I’ll keep experimenting~

2 comments

  1. These look amazing!

    I struggle every semester towards the end and let everything slide (and let anxiety rise)! It’s a horrible process and I’m trying to figure out how create a balance. I think I get almost obsessed with perfection, and I need to chill out and be happy with my best! This week is so crazy though, and I’m counting down the days until Dec 17th!

Leave Your Thoughts!

