Your Space

IMG_1885

oop. there’s me next to food, aka the natural environment.

How is your space working for you? Your creative workspace—whether it be the kitchen, your bedroom, home office, or otherwise—says a lot about you, doesn’t it? I’m talking about those dust bunnies in the corner, the slippers under the desk, and the framed photos of your cats.

More than giving away your personality, it also determines how efficiently and effectively you work. I realized today there is way. way. WAY. too much clutter on the island counter where I do 90% of my work. That clutter distracted me and also limited how much room I had for the inevitable mass of ingredients, bowls, and measuring utensils that come with baking.

I’m still working on clearing that up, but it just hit me that clutter is a large factor of my lack of progress. It gets so messy sometimes that I don’t even want to go in there and deal with it. Ultimately, that means I’m not doing any baking.

IMG_1870

A clean, clutter-free space is necessary for any workplace. I know that my desk by mid-semester gets buried under notebooks and textbooks and whatever else (note: I found assignments from last year still lying around whilst I was doing a clean up… don’t know why I kept those). It’s just distracting and depressing to look at—plus I can never find things when I need them…

To celebrate cleaning the clutter (and finally doing holiday baking… oops), I made some granola. The smell is fantastic when it comes out of the oven. Things are getting real Christmas-y around here today.

Hopfully holiday baking hasn’t got anyone too stressed out. Take a breather and maybe revaluate your workspace. It just might be causing some of the problem!

IMG_1893

Chocolatey Gingerbread Granola

vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, corn-free, refined sugar-free

2-3/4 cups certified gluten-free oats
3/4 cup certified gluten-free oat flour
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground ginger
Dash ground cloves
1/2 cup unsweetened desiccated organic coconut
1/3 cup raw almonds, roughly chopped

1/3 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup organic virgin coconut oil, melted
2 Tbsp organic molasses
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

======================================

1/3 cup allergen-free chocolate chips OR chopped vegan dark chocolate

Preheat oven to 300 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine oats, oat flour, spices, coconut, and almonds.

In a small bowl, stir together maple syrup, coconut oil, molasses, and vanilla; pour over the dry ingredients. Stir until just mixed.

Flatten mixture onto prepared baking sheet in an even layer and bake for 15 minutes. Remove from over and stir. Bake for an additional 15-20 minutes, until fragrant and golden.

Cool completely on baking sheet. Add chocolate once cooled (or until almost cooled… but definitely not when still hot… like I did. You will end up with clumps of chocolate, which is delicious but not desired).

Yield: ~6 cups granola

One comment

  1. I love the flavors of gingerbread – this sounds so good!

    Clutter is big for me too – I have to de-clutter before I can research and write, which are the two things I HAVE to do.

Leave Your Thoughts!

