Discipline

IMG_0728

When I first started baking, it was not a disciplined process. Took a jump in the deep end with that and never got back to the surface. I guess I lucked out in the end. But for a long time I really had no idea what I was doing along the way. I just made a picture of what I wanted the end result to look like.

It’s like flipping through a cookbook just for the photos and not reading the recipe through beforehand (guilty). Or realizing you don’t have a key ingredient on hand when you already have half the recipe put together (also guilty). And I do mean that in the present tense. I still do this all time.

I don’t actually recommend this…. though it did work with these blondies. I’m not bad at working a little magic with a time frame.

IMG_0736

I got fed up looking for blondies recipes to create ratios for my own recipe. What I came across didn’t seem right to me. Maybe it’s because I’m more of a brownies fan, but I didn’t realize they’re 75% eggs and butter. Silly me!

I also did not want to create something that was like a cookie bar (though that would also be delicious, I’m sure). The picture I had in my head was of gooey, chewy, sweet blondies. Nothing less.

This is the allergy-free version. They taste like snickerdoodles. They melt in your mouth. An ideal match for midmorning coffee.

IMG_0740

Blondies

vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, nut-free, corn-free, refined sugar-free

1 cup coconut sugar
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
1/4 cup applesauce
1 flax egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup sorghum flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp guar gum
1/4 tsp salt

====================================

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line an 8-inch square pan with parchment paper and leave an overhang. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together sugar, oil, and applesauce. It will be grainy, but that’s ok. Whisk in flax egg and vanilla.

In a medium bowl, stir together the dry ingredients. Gradually mix into the wet mixture until combined. Scrape batter into prepared pan.

Bake 25-30 minutes, until golden brown, just set and beginning to pull away from the parchment. Cool completely in pan.

Yield: 16 squares

2 comments

  1. I’m like that with baking too – I know I’m supposed to follow formulas, but that’s just not my style. These look really good! I love that they are allergy free too – yum!

Leave Your Thoughts!

