Look what I found

IMG_1070

Hey Mom,

I’m a day late (I’m always late, you know this). Today I went through a box of old photos and spent and hour shifting through all those funny shots of dad, and the ones of Andrew, Steph, and I together. You took so many. I made an observation that 9 times out of 10, I am with cake or some sort of food. No one ever told me to wipe my mouth. It’s tragic. I guess nothing much has changed.

Thanks for not giving up on me all those times I was ready to quit. Thanks for teaching me what you could even when there wasn’t a lot of time for you to be with us because discovering your passion, flying through numerous small jobs, and feeding four other mouths isn’t easy. Thanks for supporting my dreams and giving me hell when due.

I don’t say it because I’m still awkward with sentiments and I have an abundance of pride (told you nothing has changed). I’m working hard to make you proud. Being a daughter isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. I’m still in-progress, but I’ll get there one day. Anyway, I love you.

IMG_1051

I’m terrible with gifts, I’ll be the first to admit it. I’ll be that friend giving you a gift card on your birthday. Really sorry about that. It’s not that I didn’t think about it, it’s just that I draw a lot of blanks. That’s why I usually stick to baking.

Mom had two slices and we watched one of her mystery shows. Sometimes I pretend I don’t like them, but that’s not true. Don’t know why I do that. I spent all night thinking about how much more I could have done for my mom. I think I’ll always feel that way, but I’ll keep trying.

IMG_1067

Raw Strawberry Ice Cream Pie

vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, corn-free, grain-free, refined sugar-free, raw

CRUST
1 cup walnuts
3/4 cup medjool dates, soaked
3 TBSP cacao powder
salt
FILLING
1 tsp agar flakes, dissolved in 1/3 cup boiling water
2 cups strawberries
1 cup coconut cream
1/4 cup agave or coconut nectar

Grease an 8-inch round tart tin with removable bottom or an 8-inch round springform pan. Set aside.

For Crust: Combine all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor. Process until you get the consistency of fine crumbs. “Dough” should hold together when pressed.

Press crust into bottom and up the sides of prepared tin. Put in the fridge while you prepare the filling.

For Filling: Boil the water and sprinkle agar flakes over top. Stir until dissolved and let it cool down a bit.

Meanwhile, puree strawberries, coconut cream, and agave in a blender. Add agar mixture and pulse to combine.

Pour filling over top of crust. Cover the pie with plastic film and push it down so that it rests the filling. Chill in the fridge until it is almost set, 2-3 hours. Transfer to the freezer for at least 2 hours, until set.

Slice and serve. Store, covered, in the freezer.

Makes 6-8 servings

One comment

  1. Beautiful post to your mom! Spending time with her like you did and making her this delicious ice cream pie sounds like a wonderful gift to her! I would love to try this recipe…bookmarking it!

Leave Your Thoughts!

