Cranberry-Lemon Scones with Lemon Glaze

IMG_1649

To be sure, I’m not making scones often. I’m not a scone prodigy in the least. You know that dough + floured surface + hands in dough bit? I’m not into it. Getting the dough on my hands. On everything. I mean… for some people making bread is like meditation but for me it’s like: wow, what a mess.

Still, something in me thought scones were a good experiment for this morning. It sounds good. I was thinking: bread and fruit. Ideal match. But hours later I’m here picking it off my clothes and um, is that a crumb in my hair? Yes, it is. Don’t know how that could have happened.

Hey, for all I know, you’re into that. Totally cool. Who’s judging?

IMG_1636

They came out of the oven just fine. My kitchen was a rather hopeless place until I found these in good condition. All that nervous cranberry eating for nothing. Drizzle a little glaze… for good measure. Never mind the fact I didn’t get half of it on the actual scones.

What’s a recipe you are scared to touch (physically like me and dough, or figuratively like… me and dough)? Hopefully it’s not scones so that you can try these. Really good with jam and, I suspect, a dollop of coconut cream! Um. Breakfast… dessert… what’s the difference anyway?

IMG_1650

Cranberry-Lemon Scones with Lemon Glaze

vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, nut-free, corn-free

2 cups brown rice flour
3 Tbsp coconut palm sugar
1 Tbsp gluten- and corn-free baking powder
zest of 1 small lemon
1/4 tsp salt
5 Tbsp coconut oil, cold
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1 cup full-fat coconut milk, plus more for brushing
Organic confectioners’ sugar

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

In a food processor, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, lemon zest, and salt. Pulse in coconut oil. Stir in coconut milk and cranberries.

On a floured surface, turn out dough and knead all the extra bits into a rough dough (will be a little sticky). Cut with a knife or pastry cutter into 8 even pieces. Place scones on prepared sheet and brush with a little extra coconut milk, if desired.

Bake 12-15 minutes, until golden brown. Cool at least 10 minutes on a wire rack.

Meanwhile, make glaze: use the juice of the lemon and whisk in enough confectioners’ sugar to achieve an off-white glaze (about the consistency of maple syrup). I used about 1/3 cup of confectioners’ sugar, but it will depend on how juicy the lemon is. Drizzle glaze over scones and let harden. Serve warm.

Yield: 8 scones

3 comments

  1. Those look fantastic! I have the same issue…dough. ugh..mess! Can’t stand my hands all doughy and gross! Maybe I’ll work the nerve to give these a try! They look too dang good not to at least try! Isn’t that why you made them? hehe…..

  2. First of all, these look great! Cranberry and lemon…yummy! Secondly, I loved reading your post! I could have written this myself… I always get dough everywhere, along with everything else. Hehehe :-)

Leave Your Thoughts!

